Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Bugala Island



Sunset on Bugala Island


Canoe leaving Entebbe headed for the Ssese Islands

Ferry going to Entebbe from Bugala Island


Saturday, July 29, 2017

Uganda Pineapples

Fresh picked pineapples headed to market and they are sooo sweet!!


© Guy Smith
Pineapple with a Smile

© Guy Smith

Ugandans Love Their Matoke

Matoke is the fruit of a variety of starchy banana, commonly referred to as cooking/green bananas


© Guy Smith

Sunday, July 23, 2017

Monday, July 10, 2017

Thursday, July 6, 2017

Waste not, want not

There's a saying that we've all heard in our lives, “Waste not, want not.” Here is a guy putting that to use. His tires, suspension and bungee cords for tying on cargo are all made from old car tires, even his sandals.


© Guy Smith

Tuesday, July 4, 2017

Sunday, July 2, 2017

Riding Sidesaddle

Women in Uganda ride on ‘boda boda’ sidesaddle; this is graceful but it makes it harder to stay on the bike.


A link about "boda bodas" http://fellowsblog.kiva.org - Boda-Bodas: Kampala’s Most Efficient Form of Transportation, for Better or for Worse | Kiva


© Guy Smith

Saturday, July 1, 2017

The bus stop

The street hawkers swarm the buses at every stop trying to sell thier goods


© Guy Smith


© Guy Smith

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Uganda in Color - Museveni is in town

A couple of days ago I heard an helicopter coming that sounded very close so I grabbed my camera and ran out the back door to see what it was. President Museveni is in town so his security was scanning the area.


© Guy Smith

Monday, May 22, 2017

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Monday, March 20, 2017

Things you see on a boda boda

Goats on a boda boda


If you stay in Uganda long enough you will see just about everything on a boda boda (motorcycle taxi). We had just left Lake Mburo National Park and was getting close to Sanga when we came up on this boda boda with two goats on it. The second picture shows the same thing near Fort Portal on a early road trip. Because of these kind of sightings I always move with a camera.

Two goats on a boda boda

Two goats on a boda boda

Friday, March 3, 2017

Kids

Color street photography


Fetching water with a winning smile

Taking a flask to mommy

Playing with a old motorcycle tire

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Sunday, February 26, 2017